Forgot password?  |  Register  |    
User Name:     Password:    
Preview   

Super Mario 3D World Hands On Preview

Quite possibly the most FUN game at NYCC.

I feel like Super Mario: 3D World has looked better each time I’ve seen it. After getting to try it, this remains true. 3D World plays it safe by remaining very similar to the 3DS outing, but many refinements to the level design and gameplay are apparent. Mario and the crew have individual specialties, like Peach’s floating ability and Toad’s extra speed. There are also extra moves that are at their disposal. If you twist the analog stick in a circle, you do a spin move which is not only cool to watch, but it’s effective against enemies.

Co-op made the biggest impression on me, much to my surprise. Each of the three levels that I got to try was in four player co-op, which I initially dreaded due to the overly frantic nature of New Super Mario Bros. U. However I still found myself having an intense amount of fun. There is a heightened sense of competition. At the end of each level, players are rated on performance, and the winner gains a crown that is worn until someone takes over the number one spot. This creates both teamwork and competition that adds to the fun of each level. Going for collectibles probably won’t be done best in this mode, but it’s still fun enough. I actually am looking forward to playing co-op with my friends upon its release.

I played three different sections of the demo. The first was a basic level where we, ran, jumped and stomped our way to the goal. The second was different, where we all got on the back of a water creature, as it takes you down a waterfall full of jumps and speed boosts. All four players get control of it at the same time, so coordinating manuvers is key to success. The last level was a boss, where we had to utilize platforms and the catsuit to successfully defeat the enemy. Each was a great amount of fun, and I found myself smiling pretty much my entire time playing. 

Super Mario 3D World is continuing to impress me, and I'm sure it will be a strong asset to the Wii U library when it releases on November 22nd. 


 

Comments

Matt Snee Staff Writer

10/17/2013 at 11:45 AM

oh man I CANNOT wait for this game.  It seems SO good.  I love 3D mario. 

Jon Lewis Staff Writer

10/17/2013 at 01:48 PM

Yeah, theres a lot to be excited about. Its gonna be incredible. I really hope people give it a shot.

Pacario

10/17/2013 at 05:03 PM

I was initially disappointed that the game was based so much on 3D Land's design, but after watching some videos, I have to admit it still looks quite awesome.

My only bone of contention is with "Toad." Why isn't the classic red-spotted one featured as the fourth playable character? You know, the one who's in Wario's Woods, Mario Kart, and nearly every other Mario game (including the SNES and GBA remakes of Mario 2).

It really kind of bugs me.

Nick DiMola Director

10/18/2013 at 06:27 AM

I think it's so there's a color difference between every character. Maybe some playtesting with 4 players revealed that it was easy to confuse Toad and Mario on screen with Toad's proper color palette, so they swapped him to blue. Can't say that's definitely it, but I think it makes enough sense.

Pacario

10/18/2013 at 04:48 PM

You might be right, but I wonder if it's actually an homage to the original Super Mario Bros. 2, which did feature the blue-spotted toad. This toad would later be retconned as the red-spotted Toad we've known since, but perhaps the development team is ignorant of this fact (or simply doesn't care). And maybe I shouldn't care, either, but I've been a fan of Toad since the Super Mario Super Show days.

ThatKidOverThere

10/17/2013 at 07:15 PM

I enjoy 2d Mario better than 3d Mario, but this looks like it's shaping up to be lot's of fun. I wouldn't go so far as to say innovating, but rather very refreshing.

Pacario

10/17/2013 at 08:00 PM

Yeah, I agree. It's an extension of the 3DS game, but it still looks like a lot of fun in a world in which the platformer is nearly dead.

Jon Lewis Staff Writer

10/17/2013 at 08:54 PM

I'm usually in the same camp, but I think 3D Land was my favorite Mario game in quite some time. This is indeed more of that formula, but the changes and additions really interest me.

Homelessrook

10/22/2013 at 07:12 PM

If and when I get a Wii U, this game will be one of my first buys.

Log in to your PixlBit account in the bar above or join the site to leave a comment.

Hot Story

Stranger Things 3: The Game Review

Like so many other children of the ‘80s, I love Stranger Things. Booting it up is like taking a time machine back to my childhood. The pervasive synth music, the wardrobes and the cultural references instantly transport me, making it easier to get sucked into the day-to-day of Hawkins and the ever-creepy world of the Upside-Down. And just like a true ‘80s property, there’s also a tie-in video game to go along with the latest season of the show. Thankfully this tie-in isn’t quite as low budget as as the Atari 2600 and NES tie-ins of yesteryear, but the dungeon crawling brawler pales in comparison to the electrifying viewing experience offered by the show, especially this latest season.

Read More...

Support